Many people get confused between what composes the different levels of CPR training which are ‘A’, ‘C’ and ‘HCP’ (Health Care Provider).

Level ‘A’ – Duration: 4 hrs

  •  The First Aider’s Role
  •  Check, Call, Care
  •  H.A.IN.E.S. Recovery Position
  • Assisting with Medications
  • Angina and Heart Attack
  •  Stroke
  • CPR—Adult
  • Deadly Bleeding

Level ‘C’ – Duration: 5 hrs

  • Level ‘A’ content
  • Choking—child and baby
  • CPR—child and baby

Level ‘HCP’ – Duration: 6 hrs

  • Level ‘C’ content
  • Jaw thrust
  • Pulse check
  • Rescue breathing—adult, child, and baby
  • BVM—adult, child, and baby
  • Two rescuer CPR—adult, child, baby

Completion Requirements

  • 100% attendance, skills demonstration, and 75% min. passing grade on written exam


  • 3-year certification in CPR Level A, C, or HCP and AED
  • Recertification:  Level A: not available; Level C and HCP: 4 hours

Red Cross Training Levels